The Czech Approach to Word Formation in the Context of Slavic Linguistics

An international conference dedicated to the 110th anniversary of Miloš Dokulil’s birth and the 20th anniversary of his death


The aim of this event is to remember Miloš Dokulil’s life and his work, to evaluate the influence of the Czech word-formation approach on other word-formation research, to introduce current projects and research in the area of Slavic word formation which are inspired by M. Dokulil’s scientific contribution and which enrich and further develop it.


  1. M. Dokulil’s life and work in the context of the history of linguistics
  2. Word formation in the language system
  3. Word formation in Slavic languages
  4. The possibilities and limits of word-formation research – theoretical and methodological aspects 

Format of submissions:

oral presentation, poster

Important dates:

Deadline for applications: January 15, 2022
Confirmation of participation: March 15, 2022

Conference languages:

all Slavic, English

Conference fee:

payment by May 31, 2022: 2 000 CZK / 80 €
payment by September 15, 2022: 2 250 CZK / 90 €
payment with registration: 2 500 CZK / 100 €

The payment method will be specified after the acceptance of the submission.

About the event

Date and venue:

September 21–23, 2022

Czech Academy of Sciences
Národní 3
Praha 1

A hybrid form of the event is being considered.


The maximum length of the title is 512 characters.


Select one topic in which Your work fits best:

Presentation Form

Applicant e-mail address.

Max. 2 000 characters.



Institute of Slavonic Studies, Czech Academy of Sciences
Faculty of Arts, Charles University
Czech Language Institute, Czech Academy of Sciences
Commission on Slavic Word Formation at the International Committee of Slavists

Organizing committee:

PhDr. Václav Čermák, Ph.D. (chairman)
doc. PhDr. Ivana Bozděchová, CSc.
PhDr. Martin Prošek, Ph.D.
Mgr. Božana Niševa, Ph.D.
Mgr. František Martínek, Ph.D.
Mgr. Dmitrij Timofejev, Ph.D.
PhDr. Karolína Skwarska, Ph.D.

Programme committee:

doc. PhDr. Ivana Bozděchová, CSc. (chairwoman)
Mgr. Katja Brankačkec, Ph.D.
d.f.n., prof., academic Aliaksandr Lukashanets
PhDr. Petr Nejedlý, Ph.D.
Mgr. Božana Niševa, Ph.D.
prof.  Mgr. Martin Ološtiak, PhD.
prof. PhDr. Jana Pleskalová, CSc.
PhDr. Karolína Skwarska, Ph.D.
PhDr. Pavel Štěpán, Ph.D.
doc. PhDr. František Štícha, CSc.
PhDr. Vojtěch Veselý, Ph.D.


Czech Society for Slavonic, Balkan and Byzantine Studies